Group
23.02.2022

Fnac Darty continues its environmental commitment with the signing of a second PPA* with Valeco to increase the proportion of green energy used by the Group in France

The retail group Fnac Darty and the renewable energy producer Valeco announce the signing of a green electricity sales contract or Corporate PPA (Power Purchase Agreement) for the production of a future solar park in the Centre-Val de Loire region, in France. With an installed capacity of 20 MW, this future solar park, which will be commissioned in 2023, will cover 16% of the annual energy consumption of the Fnac Darty sites in France. In line with the Group’s commitment to reduce its CO2 emissions by 50% by 2030, this new PPA complements the first wind-powered electricity sales contract signed with Valeco in January 2021. Together, these two contracts will account for one third of Fnac Darty’s annual consumption.

We are very pleased to announce the signing of this second PPA with Fnac Darty, this time for the construction of a solar power plant in France. This agreement highlights the quality of our relationships and demonstrates our ability to provide long-term, scalable support to large companies like Fnac Darty. The aim here is to secure the production of a future project that will be introduced as soon as 2023 and which should cover 16% of Fnac Darty’s annual electricity consumption. It is a source of pride for our teams and a strong signal for the market. Fnac Darty’s ambitious approach and commitment to energy transition is exemplary and demonstrates that a commitment to powerful and sustainable change in response to the current situation and the urgency of the climate challenge is possible,” says François Daumard, President of Valeco.

In line with its sustainable development policy, Fnac Darty has chosen to use traceable guarantee of origin certificates, through a direct electricity purchase contract with a renewable energy producer. With this Corporate PPA, this strategy takes on an even stronger dimension, since this contract with Valeco will not only allow us to make our electricity supplies greener, but also to help make the French energy mix greener with the construction of a new solar power plant. Fnac Darty and Valeco have been particularly attentive to the protection of biodiversity in developing this plant and we are delighted by the positive impacts of this project,” explains Géraldine Olivier, CSR Director at Fnac Darty.

We welcome this new partnership with Valeco, which marks an acceleration in our renewable energy supply strategy in France, and contributes to regional development with the construction of a new solar power plant. It is in line with the Group’s commitment to reduce its environmental impact while continuing to roll out its approach of responsible indirect purchasing,” adds Magali Félix, Director of Indirect Purchasing at Fnac Darty.

A solar project in favor of biodiversity, which will see the establishment of a beekeeping project and a sheep pasture

With a surface area of 20 hectares, the future solar park will be developed on former agricultural land that the municipality has transformed to accommodate an industrial project. Valeco decided to retain the initial agricultural activity by establishing a beekeeping project involving the black bee of Sologne, as well as a sheep pasture, among other things. To do this, hedges will be created and the existing hedge will be reinforced both to contribute to the landscape integration of the project and to strengthen ecological continuity. Local species that are attractive to avifauna and pollinators will be selected (field maple, common dogwood, privet etc.).

Throughout the entire project, Fnac Darty and Valeco are eager to encourage the development of local employment, for example by using local nurseries and companies. Valeco is also committed to prioritizing local professionals for the maintenance of the site’s vegetation (a breeder for the pasture, a reintegration association or green space maintenance company, a local fencing company, etc.), as well as for the beekeeping project. With this new project and the development of Valeco in the region, a new maintenance base will be set up in the area.

The electricity produced by the solar power plant will be injected into Solvay Energy Services’ balance perimeter before being redistributed to Fnac Darty’s consumption sites.

*What is a PPA?

A Power Purchase Agreement is an electricity sales contract signed between a renewable energy producer and a large company to ensure that production is sold with fixed terms in advance and for a predetermined period of time. “Corporate PPA” means that the buyer is a company or an administration that is the end user of the electricity.

About Fnac Darty
Operating in 13 countries, Fnac Darty is a European leader in the retail of entertainment and leisure products, consumer electronics and domestic appliances. The Group, which has close to 25,000 employees, had a multi-format network of 936 stores at the end of September 2021, including 769 in France, and is ranked as France’s second most visited e-commerce site (over 29 million unique visitors per month) with its three merchant sites, fnac.com, darty.com and natureetdecouvertes.com. A leading omnichannel player, Fnac Darty’s revenue was close to €7.5 billion in 2020, approximately 29% of which was realized online. For more information: www.fnacdarty.com

About Valeco
A French subsidiary of EnBW, one of the largest energy companies in Germany and Europe, Valeco specializes in the development, construction, operation, maintenance and dismantling of renewable energy projects. Based in Montpellier for more than 20 years, the company, which employs nearly 250 people in the wind and photovoltaic energy sectors, is present throughout the value chain in France and internationally: from identifying suitable sites to selling renewable electricity. As of December 31, 2021, Valeco had an installed capacity of 592 MW (including 446 MW of onshore wind power and 133 MW of solar power), equivalent to the annual electricity consumption of more than 529,000 people. Find out more at www.groupevaleco.com

Similar news items

Group
12.05.2022

“WeFix and its central role in the Everyday strategy”

Vincent Gufflet, the Group’s Director of Services and Operations joins us to reflect on the agreement between Fnac Darty and Apple

Find out more
Fnac Darty Forms a New Partnership with Google on Data and Cloud
Group
23.02.2022

Fnac Darty Forms a New Partnership with Google on Data and Cloud

to Accelerate its Digital Trajectory and the Execution of its Everyday Strategic Plan

Find out more
Group

Groupe
23.02.2022

Fnac Darty poursuit son engagement environnemental avec la signature d’un second PPA* avec Valeco pour accroître la part d’énergie verte du Groupe en France

Le groupe de distribution Fnac Darty et le producteur d’énergie renouvelable Valeco annoncent la signature d’un contrat de vente d’électricité verte ou Corporate PPA (Power Purchase Agreement) portant sur la production d’un futur parc solaire en région Centre-Val de Loire, à Argent-sur-Sauldre (18). D’une puissance de 20MW installée, ce futur parc solaire, qui verra le jour en 2023, couvrira 16% de la consommation énergétique annuelle des sites de Fnac Darty en France. S’inscrivant dans la volonté du Groupe de réduire de 50 % ses émissions de CO2 à horizon 2030, ce nouveau PPA vient ainsi compléter le premier contrat de vente d’électricité d’origine éolienne signé en janvier 2021 avec Valeco. Ces deux contrats cumulés représenteront ainsi un tiers de la consommation annuelle du groupe Fnac Darty.

« Nous sommes très heureux d’annoncer la signature de ce second PPA avec Fnac Darty, cette fois-ci pour la construction d’une centrale solaire en France. Cet accord souligne la qualité de nos relations et témoigne de notre capacité à accompagner, sur le long terme et de façon évolutive, de grandes entreprises à l’image de Fnac Darty. Il s’agit ici de sécuriser la production d’un futur projet qui verra le jour dès 2023 et qui doit permettre de couvrir 16% de la consommation annuelle d’électricité de Fnac Darty. C’est une fierté pour nos équipes et un signal fort pour le marché. La démarche ambitieuse de Fnac Darty et son engagement en matière de transition énergétique est exemplaire et démontre, en écho à l’actualité et face à l’urgence de l’enjeu climatique, qu’un engagement pour un changement puissant et durable est possible », indique François Daumard, Président de Valeco.

« En cohérence avec sa politique de développement durable, Fnac Darty a fait le choix de recourir à des certificats de garantie d’origine traçables, par le biais de contrat d’achat d’électricité en direct avec un producteur d’énergie renouvelable. Avec ce Corporate PPA, cette stratégie prend une dimension plus forte encore, puisque ce contrat avec Valeco permettra non seulement de verdir nos approvisionnements en électricité, mais également de contribuer à verdir le mix énergétique français grâce à la construction d’une nouvelle centrale solaire. Fnac Darty et Valeco ont été particulièrement attentifs à la protection de la biodiversité pour développer cette centrale et nous nous réjouissons des retombées positives de ce projet », explique Géraldine Olivier, Directrice RSE de Fnac Darty.

« Nous nous félicitons de ce nouveau partenariat avec Valeco qui marque une accélération dans notre stratégie d’approvisionnement en énergie renouvelable en France, et participe au développement des territoires avec la construction d’une nouvelle centrale solaire. Il s’inscrit dans la volonté du Groupe de réduire son impact environnemental tout en poursuivant le déploiement de sa démarche achats indirects responsables » ajoute Magali Félix, Directrice Achats Indirects Fnac Darty.

Un projet solaire en faveur de la biodiversité, qui verra la mise en place d’une activité apicole et d’un pâturage ovin

D’une superficie de 20 hectares, le futur parc solaire sera développé sur un ancien terrain agricole que la commune a transformé afin d’accueillir un projet industriel. Valeco a décidé de conserver l’activité agricole initiale en y déployant notamment une activité d’apiculture autour de l’abeille noire de Sologne ainsi qu’un pâturage ovin. Pour cela, des haies seront créées et la haie existante sera renforcée tant pour participer à l’insertion paysagère du projet que pour renforcer les continuités écologiques. Des essences locales et attractives pour l’avifaune et les pollinisateurs seront sélectionnées (Erable champêtre, Cornouiller sanguin, Troène…).

Pour l’ensemble du projet, Fnac Darty et Valeco ont tenu à favoriser le développement de l’emploi local, en faisant par exemple appel à des pépinières et entreprises locales. Valeco s’engage également à faire intervenir en priorité des professionnels locaux pour l’entretien de la végétation du site (éleveur pour le pâturage, association de réinsertion ou entreprise d’entretien des espaces verts, clôturiste local…), ainsi que pour l’activité apicole mise en place. Avec ce nouveau projet et le développement de Valeco dans la région, une nouvelle base de maintenance est amenée à se déployer aux environs.

L’électricité produite par la centrale solaire sera injectée sur le périmètre d’équilibre de Solvay Energy Services avant d’être redistribuée aux sites de consommations de Fnac Darty.

*Qu’est-ce qu’un PPA ?

Un Power Purchase Agreement est un contrat de vente d’électricité signé entre un producteur d’énergie renouvelable et une grande entreprise, afin d’assurer la vente de la production à des conditions déterminées à l’avance pendant une durée prédéfinie. Le « Corporate PPA » signifie que l’acheteur est une entreprise ou une administration consommatrice finale de l’électricité.

À propos de Fnac Darty
Présent dans treize pays, Fnac Darty est un leader européen de la distribution de biens culturels, de loisirs, de produits techniques et d’électroménager. Le groupe, qui compte près de 25 000 collaborateurs, dispose à fin septembre 2021 d’un réseau multi-format de 936 magasins, dont 769 en France, et se positionne comme le 2ème acteur e-commerce en termes d’audience en France (plus de 29 millions de visiteurs uniques cumulés par mois) avec ses trois sites marchands, fnac.com, darty.com et natureetdecouvertes.com. Acteur omni-canal de référence, Fnac Darty a réalisé en 2020 un chiffre d’affaires de près de 7,5 milliards d’euros, dont environ 29 % réalisé sur le canal Internet. Pour plus d’information : www.fnacdarty.com

À propos de Valeco
Filiale française d’EnBW, l’un des plus grands énergéticiens en Allemagne et en Europe, Valeco est spécialisé dans le développement, la construction, l’exploitation, la maintenance et le démantèlement de projets EnR. Basée à Montpellier depuis plus de 20 ans, la société, qui emploie près de 250 personnes dans les secteurs de l’énergie éolienne et photovoltaïque, est présente sur toute la chaîne de valeur en France et à l’international : de l’identification de sites propices à la vente d’électricité renouvelable. Au 31 décembre 2021, Valeco comptabilise une puissance installée de 592 MW (dont 446 MW d’éolien terrestre, 133 MW d’énergie solaire) soit l’équivalent de la consommation annuelle électrique de plus de 529 000 personnes. Plus d’informations sur www.groupevaleco.com

Actualités similaires

Groupe
12.05.2022

“WeFix a un rôle central dans la stratégie Everyday”

Retour sur la signature de l’accord entre Fnac Darty et Apple avec Vincent Gufflet, Directeur Services et Opérations du Groupe

En savoir plus
Fnac Darty signe un nouveau partenariat avec Google autour du Cloud et de la Data
Groupe
23.02.2022

Fnac Darty signe un nouveau partenariat avec Google autour du Cloud et de la Data

pour accélérer sa trajectoire digitale et l’exécution de son plan stratégique Everyday

En savoir plus
Groupe